"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



vertigo
2004-01-10

How do you say goodbye to a city that has caught your heart by its figurative throat?

You don�t. You keep going back for more.

New York is the only city I�ve fallen in love with. I liked San Francisco, I was charmed by Boston, but none made me as happy as that kooky island.

Now I�m back in sunny Los Angeles.
Sigh.

Mr. J and I waltzed in Time�s Square as we ushered the New Year in. The wind was so cold and dry, sparks jumped when people kissed.
Now that�s chemistry for you.

I went to the now defunct, once notorious Studio 54.
For those of you not in the know, it used to be THE place to party in the late 70s. Famous people who went there were, among others, Andy Warhol, Cher and Calvin Klein.

Now it houses the Broadway play "Cabaret", which was what I went to see. The play was funny and sad at the same time; don�t pass it up if you ever get the chance to see it.


Boston is a charming old gentleman compared to New York�s rushing streets.

I had New England lobster, lots and lots of lobster, after which my allergies flared up and I had to resort to pawing my face with my leather-gloved hands. But the orgy of white lobster meat was worth it.

Hmm.
I should make this an annual thing; I celebrated Christmas and New Year in the City in 2002.

Anyone up for a pilgrimage to the Big Apple next winter?


previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman