"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



weird, weird wednesday
Thursday, Aug. 14, 2003

Today has been unusual but thank god it was at least the pleasant kind of weirdness. So after lunch I mentioned in passing that I was looking for books and my dad, maybe out of some desire to make up after our quarrel the other day, offered to send me to the mall. Me being the ever bellicose offspring was ready to have another round of spitfire� you know, about him not trusting me with the car and so on. But it turned out he needed to use the car so I went along, albeit with a little eye rolling.

And so I had the longest, most peaceful and most weirdly interesting conversation with my dad. It was somewhat unnerving, him talking to me like I�m his equal. Which is good, but still unnerving all the same, after 19 years of being talked down to.

Daddy told me he�d been to all the hip places the youngsters go to in KL. I cringed when he told me he liked Nouvo but hated the Beach Club. Or vice versa. I wasn�t really paying attention due to the trauma of imagining him there [AAAAAAAA cannot go dancing anymore keep seeing pops moving to the beat AAAAAAA!!].

That aside, I actually enjoyed talking to him about business and money and Americans.
I never knew his thoughts were so much like mine.

So when we got there he decided to screw his class and browse through the books with me. I didn�t find any of the books I was looking for, but I got myself Diane Johnson�s Le Divorce while he opted for an American translation of the Qur�an.

Eee. Shopping with Daddy. Never thought that would happen.






previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman