"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



of divorce and text messages
Sunday, Jul. 27, 2003

By Muslim law, the consecration of marriage should be carried out with solemnity and respect, where both bride and groom state their agreement of acceptance of matrimonial duties, witnessed by at least three (male) witnesses.

Well, it is also Muslim law, according to the Malaysian Syariah Court, that a woman can be divorced by her husband by a method as demeaning as text messaging.

I mean, what the fuck?

I have long had these niggling doubts about god, about his callousness and apathy towards his creation, that sometimes, I just push him towards the back of my head and give him the finger. And I mean god in the most universal meaning of the word, so don�t come crashing here wanting to bite my head off for being un-Islamic or murtad or whatever the hell you think I am.

In my more rational moments, I give him the benefit of the doubt that his word might have been misinterpreted and twisted as to fit the programmes of MEN (as in the sex, not the human race) in power. I mean, in the few hundred years since he had relayed his word in the hot desert of Arabia, there must have been some changes. I know, his word is sacred, and is always right, but in making sure his message gets across to man, he had to rely on man, and man is notorious for his mistakes.

I�m assuming you are familiar with the universal fable of our creation, Genesis, the rib, the snake, the fig, the whole rigamarole.
Adam is created, Eve comes next, she gets them thrown out of heaven.

HAH.

It seems that women have been criminalized since the beginning of time.
More on that later when I�m done ranting.

Back to the sms divorcing.
The Syariah court must be out of its mind. Who are these people?
You make so much fuss about the sacredness of marriage bonds and now you�re making a 180, and make a joke of both Islam and your court. Hoi!
And speaking of divorce, I�m not too happy about the usual divorcing procedures, either.
So you get mad at your wife for visiting her folks, right? You call her on the phone, pronounce the talak, and POOF!, you�re single again! Or you can write a letter, or veil your words with layers so heavy she needs a translator to understand, and still you�d be single by the end of the day.
And only the husband gets to do all this.
There are exceptions, though, where the wife can apply for a divorce through the court, and that only after she has proven that her husband is neglecting his husbandly duties.

?!??!!!
My reaction exactly.

I say fuck that.

Women of Malaysia, my Muslim sisters,
open your eyes.
You are being taken for fools.




previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman