"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



let me be your Bulan
Sunday, Jul. 27, 2003

I met the charming Mr. Nik Nazmi on Friday for lunch, and my, I wish lunch is 4 hours long. Nik Nazmi, affectionately known as Budu to most, has a lot of things to talk about and is rather cute, in my opinion. *grin*
Peace Buds~

Anyway, I will be heading north tomorrow for home sweet home after two weeks in Kuala Lumpur. I have to say I feel somewhat relieved. After all that posturing of being a city girl, I am, essentially, a child of suburbia.

For the past week I have been plagued by bits of melody from an old Indonesian song my mother sung with my aunt. (they had a brief reunion when my mother came down for a visit to grandma's).

Di Wajah Mu Kulihat Bulan is about that sleepless, delirious state one experiences when one is in the excruciating throes of love. It was originally sung by Sam Simone in the sixties and it is one of the most beautifully written songs I've ever come across. I particularly like this stanza;

Di wajahmu kulihat bulan
Menerangi hati gelap rawan
Biarlah daku mencari naungan
Di wajah damai rupawan


Literally, it means,

I see the moon in your face
Illuminating a dark, restless heart
Let me find rest
In that sweet serenity of your beauty


The song is on the soundtrack of the somewhat overrated 1998 movie, Perempuan Melayu Terakhir.

Sigh. Anyone who can find me an original copy of that song (by Simone, not Hetty, or Broery or anyone else ;p) wins a kiss~








previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman