"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



wirasangga
2004-02-22

The past haunts me like vultures hound half dead zebras.

Don�t you think I rival Karam Singh Walia at making up weird metaphors?
Hehe.

History was revisited when a friend wrote me an email a few days ago.
Mueez is a friend I respect because he is the antithesis of my faithlessness; he believes in the goodness and fairness of god. When I am with him I feel like I am a step closer to a divine presence.
Anyway, he asked me why I didn�t include in my �what you might not know about me list� the fact that I used to be a pretty good silat exponent.

To tell the truth, I totally forgot about it.

If you asked me four years ago whether I would consider giving up that age old martial art in my daily life, I would probably have spat at your feet and cursed your ancestors.
Well, not really.
But I would very likely reply with a vehement �No!�

But look at me now.
I�ve forgotten that I used to be a pencak silat enthusiast.

It was my obsession, my passion, my raison d�etre. I would think for hours on how I should throw a punch. I would count the minutes until my next practice session.
At 15 I started to actively take part in wirasangga competitions, literally choreographed �fights�, the most strenuous and dangerous of the three events in silat seni. My partner and I were two-time champions at state level competitions; we made it to the nationals even.

Due to our sudden achievement of greatness, the silat club began to receive attention at a school that once considered it to be something of a nuisance. Now, my alma mater regularly produces silat exponents for SUKMA.

It�s sad that now I don�t even remember the most basic of �bunga�s, the dance-like �lenggok� that makes the silat distinctively Melayu.

Spurred by Mueez�s email, I started rummaging through old photos, and found a cd of my friends and I practicing for a competition.
I was such a posturing cock during those years.
Hehe.

I miss that passion that would drive me to drop everything just to feel the rush of throwing a punch and being kicked in the gut.
I miss the theatrical nature of the silat seni.
I miss the pride I used to feel when people asked, "Kau main apa silat?" and I'd answer, "Aku main tempur."
I miss that feeling of abject misery when we lost and jubilance when we won.

Anyone out there an anak Gayong in the states?
Drop me a line yo.


previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman