"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



goodwill, lesbians and adultery
2004-01-19

I admit, I am a snob somewhat when it comes to shopping. Although I deride the capitalist-consumerist pulse that is the heart of this nation�s existence, I myself, sadly, am one of the hypocritical veins that keeps the heart throbbing. Lately, this retail snobbery has made me wary of all things non-designer, which is a bad thing considering I am a student with no income. Blame Carrie Bradshaw and all those pretty, superficial, but oh-so-fun to look at magazines.

Do not despair, however!
Last Saturday I went thrift shopping at the nearest Goodwill, and my, oh my, I had fun! I got myself a 60s inspired sundress (for sunny Los Angeles, in January no less!), a vintage powder-blue telephone, you know, the one that looks like the one at your grandma�s, a copy of �The Velveteen Rabbit�, a pink pitcher ( I don�t know what the hell for), and a dog-eared Calvin and Hobbes collection.

For 12 bucks.

Goodbye Gucci, Hello Hand-Me-Downs!
Well, not goodbye really, but more like, I�ll see you later, Monsieur Dior. Hee.

To all those Sex and The City fans out there, isn�t Petrovsky the hottest thing on earth? I want a �pure poetry� dress, goddammit.
Oh yeah, anyone with Showtime should watch the �The L Word�. I�d pick Shane, the rockstar-like-player and Marina, the foreign sounding caf� owner as bedmates - at the same time maybe? The Sappho in me sure enjoyed that show.

Superficiality aside, the show really got me thinking. Would fooling around with a girl, while �being� straight, be cheating? I asked myself that some time ago, and I came to my conclusion that as long as you�re not involved emotionally, it�s ok.
Mr. J, on the other hand, told me once that he thinks physical adultery is unforgivable, while emotional cheating is something he can overlook, provided his partner does not flaunt it in his face.

What do you think?


previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman