"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



my father's daughter
2004-02-12

Every girl has issues with her father.

I love the idea of him. I love the stories of his youth, his brilliant words, his genius wit. I love the father of my mother's memories, the young man who wooed her with Indonesian poetry, who wrote plays and antagonised "the authorities".

I hate the distant, overbearing figure who, even across oceans, could still hurt me with his words.

Too many have told me that I am my father's daughter.
My eyes are his eyes, my skin his skin.
My ideas, my thoughts, all his.

I have begun to wonder that maybe these dark spells that ever so often bind me into uselessness, the whispers, the scratches, the terrifying doubts, are all gifts from him, all my inheritance.


previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman