"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



to veil or not to veil...
2003-11-09

I get angry when boys and men discuss the veil without consulting women.
I get angry when boys and men condemn women who don�t wear the veil.

A veil can be liberating. Women who wear the face cover claim it frees them from the capitalist consumerist impulse to �dress to impress�. No pressure to use make-up, less money spent on clothes (and shoes), voila~ you have a happier, less stressed life.
Some claim the tudung provides a personal space; they feel it protects them from society�s evils.

But I don�t know.
I�d be lying if I say I don�t have anything against the veil.
I do. I have everything against the veil.
Now that�s not a very politically correct thing to say, but what the hell.

I guess it irks me that women have to be responsible for men�s weaknesses.

Fatima Mernissi, a leading social scientist and feminist writer from Morocco, concluded in her book Dreams of Trespass, that men somehow came to believe that the presence of women and their uncontrollable �essence� are too dangerous.
�Passive men cannot control themselves sexually (or believe they cannot); women are lusty creatures who tempt them and lead them astray�.

Yergh.

I am in the process of doing research on matters of the veil, and I was surprised by the strong emotions I experienced as I sifted through mountains of information on the practice of veiling. Sometimes I felt I should defend it (most often this happened when the author takes a pro-West, more-enlightened-than-thou attitude); at other times I felt like burning the restrictive piece of cloth and be done with it (when authors blindly promote its pros while ignoring its cons).

When I was a kid I remember being ashamed of my mother � she worked long hours, she didn�t (and still doesn�t) wear the veil. It didn�t help that she looked younger than her age and was (still is) very attractive. I remember defending her to a classmate; I claimed that my mother would wear the veil very, very soon. Now that�s peer pressure for you. And then I grew up and forgot that shit, and took pride on the fact that my mother is a successful, progressive career woman.

Sometimes I feel guilty when I try to entice my younger sisters to abandon the veil by showing them how fabulous my life is. I�d think, �Girl, you�ll be thrown into a fiery pit of doom if you�re not careful.�

So.
I have no point.
Wear it, don�t wear it. Choose wisely, and make sure you have the courage to stick with your decision.




previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman