"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



dance until the sky falls down
2004-03-10

I fucked up my presentation today.

What the hell.

I have a bone to pick with the world.

I had a conversation with an old friend a week or so back, and somehow in the steamy cubicle of the shower, in the course of dealing with feelings of self-hate and anger at my freaking presentation, I realized the magnitude of the conversation I had.

I was being my usual self when I lamented the fact that men had �refractory periods�, to which my friend replied with an incredulous,
�They do??�
�I thought that�s common knowledge,� said I.
And she said,
�Well, my ustazah told me men don�t, and it is us women who do, and that�s part of the reason why men are allowed to be polygamous.�

Dude.

I was rendered speechless for a second.
This is the sexual miseducation of Malaysian women.

To those of you who are still wondering what I�m talking about, the refractory period is the time after orgasm, a recovery period after which men can begin anew the whole process of getting it on.

Women apparently, have no or a very short refractory period (say YAY, girls!).

For most men the recovery period lasts up to hours; some lucky bastards need only 2 minutes.
This is a favorite subject women bitch about; it�s everywhere, in the magazines, on TV (hello SATC), everywhere I tell you.
I think there was a scene on Fresh Prince years ago (mind you, this is an OLD series), where the women were saying that sex isn�t as good as food, since you�d have to wait for 2 hours to get seconds. I remember laughing my ass off. And yeah, that was back in Malaysia (I don�t think the Censorship Board understood the joke, those clever, clever people).

Anyway.

I�m angry at the ustazah for

1. disseminating untrue �facts� to her students
2. using said �fact� to justify the controversial polygamy issue

I say no to polygamy.
In fact, I say lets chuck the whole marriage concept down the well.
Let�s all be damned hedonists and dance till the sky crumbles.

Bah.
Freaking presentation.


previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman