"kucium bunga itu berkali kali
dan dalam keharumannya
aku terkenangkan dirimu..."



forgive them their sins
2003-10-15

Tomorrow I will be twenty years old.

That�s a frightening thought.
I remember thinking at the age of seven or six, after having a conversation with my somewhat religious aunt, what the color of my soul is.
She had told me that children were born with a white canvas of a soul, and as they grow older, the canvas becomes darker as their sins multiplied.
I remember thinking, how hard is it being good?

Each year thereafter, I always had, at the back of my mind, a �sin calculator�, where I would put imaginary black/grey dots on my soul every time I did a bad deed. I think the canvas was pretty white up to year 16. Sure, I was THE rebel without a cause, but I always felt that those were not sins, really, just... experience.

Two decades of black and grey dots (splotches?).
I�m not sure how my soul is doing right now.

I�ve outgrown my childish, innocent notions of �good� and �bad�, but sometimes, sometimes, when the sky is blue, and the wind is cool, and my heart is crying without reason, I wish I still had a white canvas.


previous - next



home

archives

NEW!

hosted by DiaryLand.com




The GMBL [?]
[random go!] Add me!

Idaman is a young Malaysian on the lookout for an education in Los Angeles, California. She strives to write but is constantly sidetracked by clubs, books, plays, food and occasionally, her school work. She appreciates feedback from her readers and accepts praise, brickbats and party invites at [email protected]


�2003 Design and Content
by idaman